2020 Good Design Awards begins global search for cutting edge design and innovation


Good Design Australia has today announced it is calling for Australian and international entries to the 2020 Good Design Awards. The prestigious annual awards program, now in its 62nd year, is the nation’s highest design honour and has been recognising and rewarding excellence in cutting edge design and breakthrough innovation since 1958.

The program celebrates the best in design and architecture across 11 main design disciplines spanning 28 categories. Design experts from Australia and around the world are invited to submit entries until the deadline of the 27th of March 2020.

The evaluation process for Australia’s Good Design Awards is one of only a handful of international design award programs that conducts a face-to-face, hands-on evaluation of the projects submitted for consideration.

Dr. Brandon Gien, CEO of Good Design Australia said the program was respected globally for its high standard of design evaluation with more than 40 independent design and architecture experts participating in the judging process.

“Our Judges don’t look at pictures over the internet to decide the winners, they meet face-to-face, debate and argue the merits of good design to decide which projects go on to receive the prestigious Good Design Award,” said Dr. Gien.

“The importance of any awards program is defined only by its credibility and we take great pride in maintaining a high standard of design evaluation,” he added.

Last year’s winner of the top prize, the Good Design Award of the Year 2019, was the Inventia Rastrum 3D Bioprinter designed by emerging Australian life science company Inventia, which is working to transform medical research and help find a cure for cancer. The Rastrum enables researchers to build cell structures and test in parallel, almost real-time a number of drug therapies to fight cancer.

Entries are evaluated on three main design criteria which include: Good Design, Design Innovation and Design Impact with the highest scoring projects receiving accolades.

“As we transition to a world that is experiencing exponential advancements in science and technology and one that continues to grapple with big issues such as climate change and inequality, design-led innovation and creative thinking is now more important than ever,” said Dr. Gien.

New for 2020 is the introduction of a Precinct Design Category which has been established to recognise and celebrate the critical role of design in the planning and development of new city precincts.

The new category will recognise projects where a holistic design approach has been adopted in the design of precincts and includes elements such transport, education, health and other services – all designed to improve the quality of life for people and contribute to better economic, social and environmental outcomes.

“Our world is crying out for cutting edge-design innovations that are solving problems, improving our quality of life and helping our planet move towards a more sustainable future for us all. This message is central to the Good Design Awards and the innovative projects the program attracts and showcases each year,” added Dr. Gien.

The Good Design Awards recognise design excellence across broad sectors and industries and covers everything from the design of products we use each and every day, the services we interact with, the places and spaces we occupy, to the design of the processes and systems that underpin business, industries and economies right through to projects in the social innovation space.

The 2020 Good Design Awards will be presented at the annual Good Design Awards Ceremony in Sydney on 9 July 2020.

Entries: For entries to the 2020 Good Design Awards, click here

Good Design key dates:

  • 27 March 2020 – 2020 Entries Deadline
  • 11-14 May 2020 – Judging Week (Sydney)
  • 22 May 2020 – Successful Entries Notified
  • 28 May 2020 – Winners Package Opt-Out Deadline
  • 9 July 2020 – Good Design Awards Ceremony (Sydney)

For full process and timeline, click here